Community of Bloggers


It’s happened again. I received another award for my blog. This one, awarded by Travelography, is called the 7×7 Link Award and lists 7 ways I have written posts that meet certain criteria and reaches out to 7 other bloggers whose writing has been so enjoyable that I want to share them with you.

When I think about how my online community has evolved over the years, from chatroom to IM to blogging, I recognize that the desire to communicate a concept or an image is universal. People have varying abilities, but the desire to share is extensive.  When someone has developed a writing style that communicates well, they deserve to be read.

When I post something about travel in this blog, or about the farms in West Virginia or my town’s efforts to develop a fresh local farm market, I spend a little time searching for similar topics in the WordPress Community. Some blogs are well written and those are the ones I like to bring to your attention when I have an opportunity like this.

But first, I have to comply with the first requirement of this award: I must tell you something that you may not know about me. This may be a toughie, since I tend to run at the mouth as much as I do, and perhaps only those of you who are relatively new to my world may not know all the pathways of my journey that I have shared with longer term friends, but here goes: I am addicted to sudoku. I probably spend about an hour a day, in 5-10 minute snatches of time, playing. My theory is that I may keep my aging brain a bit sharper a bit longer if I exercise it. Phew! I feel better now that I admitted it.

Now I will list 7 of my previous posts that meet criteria in the following categories: Most Helpful, Most Popular, Most Beautiful Piece, Most Controversial, Most Surprisingly Successful, Most Underrated, and Most Pride Worthy. Hot links are provided so you can read them if you can’t remember them

Most Helpful: Travel Pearls: Nova Scotia Kitchen Party

Most Popular: Travel By Rail-US Style

Most Beautiful Piece: Not Quite As I Remember It

Most Controversial: Thoughts on Dubai

Most Surprisingly Successful: America’s Resort: The Greenbrier 

Most Underrated:  Same Old Same Old Could Use a ChangeUp

Most Pride Worthy: Child-Centered Trip-NOT!

Okay, now I want to bring seven other blogs to your attention. You may have already checked some of them out when I mentioned them the last time I won an award, or there may even be a new one this time. Click on each one and read the latest post…and if you find it interesting, subscribe. I enjoy these and you may too.

Foot Meets Road  shares her love of travel. She is not a travel professional like I am, but a person who feels the itch to go see and do!

Movin’ On  is written by a woman I am eager to meet. I first noticed Gunta’s photography of the beaches in Oregon and where she loves to wander with her dog. She loves to travel and when the itch is strong, she does!

Eric Murtaugh  is a lot younger than I am but I really appreciate his insights so much. His philosophy is to grab life, not just watch it go by dreaming of when you might have a chance. Stop making excuses and do!

The Essence of Dubrovnik  is written by my friend Carol Sosa who, upon retirement from her career as a travel agent in California, moved to her beloved Croatia and has settled down with an old love and is learning a new way of life. She has jumped in with both feet and is doing it!

Going Dutch  is a glimpse into Malou’s world. Born and raised in the Philappines, she met her husband there and moved across the globe to live in his world in Holland. Their little girl is now 4-years-old and she gives us glimpses into their life, sharing tidbits of Dutch culture as well as her exquisite close-up photography. Malou likes to get out and do!

The Joyful Shoehorn  is the other Oregon blogger I follow. Kelsey is a travel junkie and much of her adventures involve outdoor activities that are actually achievable by almost anyone. She prefers the outdoors to being stuck inside and she will encourage you to do it too.

Temporary Lost  details the extensive travel by Andre Wamiet, a young man who was able to leave his job and travel. His goal is to cover a continent in a trip and we just had a marvelous introduction to Asia. He enjoys sharing the culture, the conversations and the cuisine and his tagline on his blog says it all: I’D RATHER REGRET SOMETHING THAT I’D DONE THAN SOMETHING I WAS TOO AFRAID TO DO.

You notice I like first person stories? Maybe you will too.

This entry was posted in Asia, Croatia, Culture, Europe, Family, Oregon, Travel, United States, Website to Explore and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Community of Bloggers

  1. Laura says:

    Congratulations! Keep ’em coming!

  2. what? me shut up? LOL

  3. wheniwasalad says:

    I keep popping back and try to look in on people who have had the courtesy to visit my blog, that way I learn a little more each day, but I also find out I still have a hell of a lot to learn 🙂

  4. Gunta says:

    So well deserved! Love checking in with you. Used to be hooked on Sudoku, too, some years back. I feel the urge coming back again, now that you’ve mentioned it. Are there ever enough hours in the day?

  5. Ingrid says:

    Thanks for sharing the other blogs. Definitely of interest. Oh, and congrats on the award. Always enjoy your posts 🙂

Comments are closed.