Child Centered Trip….NOT!


We started travelling when I was 3 years old and I know there probably were plenty of times I sat there, stuck in the middle of the backseat of the 1955 Chevy station wagon, that my inner voice screamed, “ARE WE THERE YET?” But never, in my wildest dreams (well, maybe ONLY in my wildest dreams) would I ever have verbalized them.

My family was NOT child centered. That is not to say we were not involved in lots of activities where we could learn and grow like swimming and becoming life guards and swim instructors and Girl Scouts and taking advantage of so many travel and growth opportunities there.

But instead, my parents involved us in interests of theirs, where appropriate. For example, growing up in New Brunswick, NJ where Rutgers University is located, my parents invited students from all over the world into our home and my education was enriched by learning about life in other places.

So, vacation planning was done between the parentals; I never was asked if there was something I wanted to do/see.  We did not, for example, go to amusement parks. And so, we

and more, much much more.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Think about how I learned my U.S. history. How I understood how other regions of the country produced different products and how those came to be used by consumers. How I gained a better understanding of the science of our physical world. How I began to understand that there were many many different kinds of people who had built this nation.

My parents supplemented my education a lot all the time, but used family vacations to continue to feed us. Perhaps the trips WERE child centered, after all……

This entry was posted in education, Family Travel, Habits, High Value, Historic Interest, Kid Travel, Mission, National Park, Natural Must See, People, Science, Travel, United States and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Child Centered Trip….NOT!

  1. What a wonderful education you got just from traveling. I don’t think I ever got out of Minnesota while growing up.

  2. Gunta says:

    Truly travel expands the mind.
    And referring to a previous post or comment brought this quote to mind: “Thanks to the Interstate Highway System, it is now possible to travel from coast to coast without seeing anything”. -Charles Kuralt

Comments are closed.