What’s your magnet?


Having recently visited New York City I was reminded once again of the vibrancy and high level of energy that is part of a major city. The flip side, of course, is a greater level of stress dealing with crowds and higher prices.

Growing up in New Jersey I would read through the want ads in the Sunday Times when I was in high school, imaging my post-college job and then looking at pages of apartments for rent. My older sisters, however, were the ones who actually made that move while I left the Northeast and felt that I had escaped safely.

For people who have always lived in a major city, the concept of a small city or town generally offers a scary concept of nothing to do and not being able to find things they are accustomed to.  To me, I have experienced that living in a town offers you a chance to get involved and actually find your voice has a place of value. As for not finding things I used to have more readily available, well, I have adjusted my “needs” somewhat and buy in bulk when I go to a larger city when I travel. 

Traveling permits us try the other lifestyle, a chance to jump into the exciting rapids of a large city, or to laze in the tranquil pace of a slow float in a rural area. If you have never explored an alternative pace of life, think about it as a way to expand your own horizons in new ways for your next vacation.

This entry was posted in Budget, Culture, Habits, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s your magnet?

  1. I grew up in a very small town, which I loved. It was a great place to grow up. I love visiting the big cities, but I don’t think I could live in one. I love the open spaces.

  2. Gunta says:

    I grew up in Boston, then lived in San Francisco, but then started to move toward ever smaller towns. It’s really freaky getting sucked back into the hustle and bustle on the rare occasions when I visit any big city these days. At this point, Eugene counts for a Big City in my book! 😉

  3. I thought I enjoyed the lifestyle of a larger city but I am finding that there is plenty to do in my town and I can plan to go to a larger city for a special event.

Comments are closed.