Springtime in Colorado


Once upon a time, a kazillion years ago (my husband, who is a scientist, will mutter I COULD be a bit more precise) this land was different than it is now. Different formations of mountains and waters, different climate, different ecosystems.

The National Park Service maintains many pieces of lands that preserve our cultural and physical history. Florissant Fossil  Beds National Monument, located only 35 miles west of Colorado Springs, has petrified redwood stumps up to 14 feet in diameter!

Underneath the ground is a mass amount of small carbon impression fossils of plants and insects.

And on top, is beautiful prairie.

This entry was posted in Colorado, Mountains, National Park, Natural Must See, Science, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Springtime in Colorado

  1. Karl says:

    The park is really cool and the entire area down from there to Pueblo has many cool fossil locations. Near Morrison west of Denver you can see dinosaur tracks and bones in a couple of roadside stops. If your in Colorado (or the west) and interested in fossils you can join WIPS Western Interior Paleontological Soceity which does education and collecting trips and works with the Denver Museum of Nature and Science. One of the things I am going to miss since we moved to Vermont.

  2. You’ll find fossils there too. I don;t know about VT but lived in CT for years and there are several sites there set aside by State Parks.

  3. I wish I had known about this when I lived in Colorado. It took moving to Catskill, NY to discover fossils. Regarding tree stumps, I just recently had the opportunity to photograph the Gilboa tree stumps at the NY State Museum that were the cover feature of current issue of Nature Magazine. I’ll be posting them in a few weeks. Best wishes.

  4. My parents were rock hounds and when we traveled, my dad always researched places to find interesting rocks. Any place you live, check out the state parks and monuments….amazing resources in addition to all the Federal park lands.

Comments are closed.