Barn Quilt


My worlds overlapped again. Last week I stopped into the local quilt store to pick up some fabric for my bag biz and got to talking with a woman who said she makes barn quilts. 

This entry was posted in Architecture, Art and Artisans, West Virginia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Barn Quilt

  1. Gunta says:

    Love that idea!!!

  2. Apparently big in Ohio and West Virginia, a few in Tennessee. These are NOT Amish hex signs, but the people tend to come up with a design that fits what the farm raises.

  3. Seasonsgirl says:

    Glad you shared this. I have been in all 3 of these states a lot and have never seen them.

  4. You have to get off the beaten track…on to the back roads of small counties.

  5. Gunta says:

    Looks to me like it needs a bit of interpretation as to what “fits”…. maybe an index of sorts?

  6. Seasonsgirl says:

    We have with some but I guess not enough… that will make a good weekend drive to find them 🙂

  7. Well, you have to know the people….and that means living in the community for about 5 or 6 generations. Then it will make sense. Until then, just enjoy the colors.

  8. Cathi says:

    How fabulous to see those!

  9. An unadorned barn is pretty neat looking, but these spiff them up nicely.

  10. I always learn so much from reading every ones blogs. This is very interesting. I had no idea that a barn quilt exist. I love the one that looks like a cross.

  11. The woman started telling me and of course, since we were in the store, I immediately imagined draping the barn in soft goods and wondered how that lasted. I learned something too! Last week my son’s track team had a meet in one of the counties where this is found and I had a chance to see them.

  12. I like this idea. Hope it catches on in Indiana!

  13. I can easily see this in Indiana!!!

Comments are closed.