What do you eat each week? from WVFarm2u


A few years ago I received an email photo essay that I wish I had saved. I search the web and found something similar. Time Magazine’s What the World Eats compares weekly grocery purchases–the items and the cost—for families in a number of countries around the world.

Look carefully at each photo. Several will have you counting your blessings. Several will have you appalled.

Note the amount of fresh foods and packaged items, the beverages and also the number of people that budget feeds.

Then think about what YOU eat.

Chad $1.23
Bhutan $5.03
Peru $32
Mongolia $40
Egypt $69
Poland $151
China $155
California $159
Mexico $189
Kuwait $221
Great Britain $253
Italy $253
Japan $317
North Carolina $342
Germany $500

Fast food, prepared frozen dinners, lots of alcohol…..are ruinous on your budget…..and probably on your health.

This entry was posted in Asia, Beer, Budget, Culture, Europe, Habits, Shopping, South America, United States and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What do you eat each week? from WVFarm2u

  1. I agree completely. Fresh is best. My husband and I are trying very hard to just buy fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, fish and chicken.

  2. We are members of a CSA (consumer support agriculture) and get a box of fresh goodies shipped to us each week. This week’s goodies (arrived today) include some golden beets, assorted salad greens, baby bok choy (used for dinner tonight), Italian parsley, and (being WV) ramps! Also included was a 1/2 gallon of very tasty apple cider.

  3. What I like about getting the CSA box is that we are trying new veggies that you and I never cooked before…and finding them very yummy.

  4. Check to see if there is a CSA in your area. Go to my other blog WVFarm2u where I have a link to how to find a CSA in your area. By using a CSA you will understand how the food you eat was raised and you will be helping the local economy as well.

  5. What a great post and what a eye-opener!! Impressive to see these differences between countries in only 1 world!! And it is true that fresh food is so much healthier…not sure that it is always cheaper though (speaking of western countries)…

  6. Well, it appears that overall, if packaged foods are not purchased and fresh foods are, the grocery bills were lower. But you also have to consider the nutrition involved. The Baby Boomers are the first American generation to eat so many empty calories in junk food and so many chemicals in processed food. Look at the health issues that have happened over 20-50 years of eating garbage like that. So, how expensive is that piece of fruit really?

  7. Well if you put it like that than you are absolutely right. I do agree that it’s very important to eat fresh food. Fortunately my love always cooks with fresh food and barely anything from a can let alone food in packages (must say that it’s less common here in Italy then in America)…we believe that you shouldn’t cut back on eating….
    😀

  8. Very interesting..makes me think. I notice that in the grocery stores here in The States the frozen food section keeps growing larger as I imagine a lot of waistlines are too. What an eye-opener..Thanks.

  9. Isn’t it amazing to see the vast variety of frozen dinners that are available now…especially when compared to the aluminum tray offerings we had when I was little. It was a special treat to watch some movie, like The Wizard of Oz, (in black and white of course) with our TV dinners on our tray tables. But golly gee! Have you read the ingredients in those frozen meals? You can’t pronounce most of them.

  10. I remember those tv dinners, some of them were actually ok, the Swanson chicken was good and the little desserts….and The wizard of Oz..it is still one of my all time favorite movies, great memories… 🙂

  11. Karl says:

    My wife and I will be starting to grow as much of our own food as possible by the end of the year. We will have chickens and rabbits for meat. Later a couple of dairy goats and maybe a pig. Both of us can’t eat processed food, which is the majority of the junk sold here in the U.S. Unfortunately that cuts down on socializing, you would not believe how many people get upset when you won’t eat food they offer. It seems like this would be easier in a third world country where most of the food is fresh.

  12. Check out my other blog, Karl…..at http://www.wvfarm2u.wordpress.com
    There is a growing understanding about the need for more local foods here and then better identification about how it is raised so consumers can at least understand and chose with some information. In that blog my mission is to get the info out to the consumers….I never knew there was so much close by until I started writing the blog. I thought Vermont was light years ahead of West Virginia!

Comments are closed.