Out and About Day Trip


SUNRISE I-64 east

I have recently been hired to write blogs for the Collaborative for 21st Century Appalachia. You might remember the Cast Iron CookOff about a month ago. That was a fundraiser for the group which encourages people to use the local farms and markets in West Virginia as well as supporting the restaurants that use local products.

Yesterday I headed out early to head 3 hours up the road to a farmers market in Morgantown. 

On the way I made time for a cup of coffee with Ruby Dee Collins to hear about her Mountain Family Treasures, a collection of family favorite recipes from the mountain lakes region of West Virginia. These are heritage recipes and the book also includes some stories of the people who live there. Cookbooks are $15 and $5 for shipping.

I spent a couple of hours with Jared and Amanda McCray who have a beef cattle operation in Bridgeport, West Virginia. They will provide a quarter, half or full cow butchered to you at what we estimated nets out to about $3 a pound, an amazing price advantage if you have the freezer space.I then stopped at the Starving Artist in Clarksburg, West Virginia where Bill and Amanda Leasbury are living their passion. Bill paints, teaches and holds artist parties while Amanda produces colorful furniture.

By the time I headed home I got to enjoy

SUNSET, I-79

This entry was posted in Green, Travel, West Virginia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out and About Day Trip

  1. xandimusic says:

    Hi there,
    nice photos, like them! And I wanted to say, we decided that WU is the new photograph, sorry to you. Hope it’s Ok 😉
    Peace
    xandi

  2. WU? Do you mean you are teasing me about WVU? We call that the OTHER state university in this town where Marshall University is located. LOL

Comments are closed.