SpotLight: Katzingers


The first time I walked into Katzingers about 5 years ago I literally stopped just inside the door. The aromas bombardering my senses brought to mind numerous visits to Katz’s in Lower Manhattan as a kid.  Katzinger’s, however, is not in New York. It is in Columbus, Ohio.

Located on the edge of German Village very close to the downtown area, the deli/restaurant offers amazing breads, cheese, and sandwiches as well as top line teas, oils and vinegars and other yummies. GO!!!!

This entry was posted in Food and Wine, Urban and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SpotLight: Katzingers

  1. Dubrovniklady says:

    Next time I am in the States, a visit to the Deli is a must.

  2. Teresa Silverthorn says:

    Oh, my. This makes me recall the aroma of German deli’s, when I was a child.

    I know that smell, but have never smelled it since.

    I can understand why you stopped at the door. I would have done the same thing.

  3. Whenever we need to head to Columbus we take a cooler so we can make a “buy”, usually approaching $75 by the time we are done…of cheeses and some of the meats or fish. Much of the offerings are familiar from my childhood; most are new to my husband who grew up in Texas, but since he is a chowhound, he has no problem enjoying. One fun thing…when you get a sandwich you can chose which kind of pickle you want from the barrels. Yum.

  4. Malou says:

    Wow, this is my kind of place! I always love delicatessens. Oftentimes, I get so greedy that I end up buying more than what we can eat. Hubby says that my eyes become bigger than my stomach 😉

  5. We sometimes order the large sandwich, eat half there and have the other half for lunch the next day. But sometimes………

  6. theroadchick says:

    Wow, you know I STILL have not been to Katzinger’s even though I’ve heard such great things about it. Now, I know I need to go!

  7. Well, ONLY if you like deli. LOL. It is worth the drive. We live 3 hours away and while we have never planned a Katzinger run by itself, we find ourselves heading to Columbus several times a year and always manage to stop. It’s worth it!!

Comments are closed.