Not quite as I remember


For years I remembered a place my dad stopped to take a photo on our way to Glacier National Park. This was sometime in the mid 1960s and the approach was on a small 2 lane road.

We topped a low rise and golden wheat fields spread out as far as could be seen. The sun was shining, making them glow with radiance.

Far off were the Rockies, snow-capped and purple in the distance.

Sounds like we found the location for America The Beautiful.

Above the mountains were clouds, perhaps thunderheads…..

The color contrast of the bright gold wheat fields and the purple mountains and dark clouds was amazing.

I carried that memory with me for hmmmmm, 40 years.  And then, in the massive slide scanning project a couple of weeks ago, there it was.  And it was not quite as I remember…..good but not great. I need to go find that road and shoot that one again…next hill, a little closer….find the sweet spot!

This entry was posted in Natural Must See, Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not quite as I remember

  1. Pierotucci says:

    Sometimes memories are beautiful exactly for that reason – they are richer than an image because they include your mood at the time, the feel of the sun, the smell of the grass, the laughter shared with Dad and family….sometimes memories just can not be stored on paper!
    http://www.pierotucci.com/bags/shoulder_bags/

  2. I concur with Pierotucci. The sweet spot is there, you just can’t see it on paper.

  3. Thanks to both of you. I was disappointed when I rediscovered the photo but you have helped me realize that the memory is of the journey…not the exact event. My dad has been gone for ten years now and this was a flash of “being here” with me that was very sweet.

Comments are closed.