Different habits: dogs in restaurants


Here in the United States we tend to have a love/hate relationship with our pets. Or rather, to be more exact, we love OUR pets but don’t particularly want to be bothered by anyone else’s. We have ideas that (other people’s) animals bring germs into environments where we eat, so except for a few places that have been popping up, as reported in my post about Travelling with Pets, restaurants here in the U.S. only permit service animals.

Imagine my delight in 1981 when I saw this! 

Somewhere in Germany, this dog was one of countless I saw then and again each time I visit Europe. Well behaved, sitting or lying quietly while their owners enjoy their meal or social activity, dogs are welcomed in almost every restaurant in many countries.

This entry was posted in Europe, Urban and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.